Welcome to the Shoryudo

The Shoryudo is one of seven regional tourist routes in Japan specifically designated by the Japanese government.
The Shoryudo traverses the very center of Japan. There are several themes that the Shoryudo focuses on, and which show what this region has to offer visitors: the mountains, including Mt. Fuji, the peak that symbolizes Japan; food and quality sake produced using the pure waters this region is blessed with; the samurai traditions and culture that made the region what it is today; and craftsmanship handed down from one generation of artisans to the next.
The Shoryudo, meaning "the way of the dragon," gets its name from the Chubu and Hokuriku regions (the prefectures of Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui, Nagano, Gifu, Shizuoka, Aichi, Mie, and Shiga), which together make the shape of a dragon.
We'll be waiting for you on the Shoryudo!

About Shoryudo

Six networked routes

There are so many tourist sites to see along the Shoryudo.
We have developed six distinctive routes that will let you see the most of what the Shoryudo has to offer.

Information that lets you experience the allure of the Shoryudo

The Shoryudo has such diverse attractions.
In addition to World Heritage sites Shirakawa-go and Gokayama, cities like Kanazawa and Hida-Takayama that retain a strong impression of their historical culture, onsens, and scenic attractions, visitors can enjoy the combinations of traditional culture, food, and sake that different local communities offer.


It has released the site.