Shoryudo refers to the nine prefectures in Japan’s central Chubu and Hokuriku regions. The collective shape of these regions resembles a rising dragon, with the Noto Peninsula forming its head, Mie Prefecture its tail, and its body consisting of the remaining Chubu and Hokuriku prefectures, giving this sightseeing destination its nickname of "Shoryudo" the "Rising Dragon Region.



Feel the Heart of Japan

Shoryudo is an area filled with attractions to see, enjoy, and taste, where you can feel the heart of Japan and savor all the true charm of a visit to Japan.

Expedition to the Real Japan

All the appeal of the real Japan awaits you in this region. The region features much to delight visitors, including many hot-spring baths, locations of scenic natural beauty, and areas of history and culture relating to such personages as Tokugawa Ieyasu, Japan’s first shogun, as well as architecture, legends, festivals, and more. The region is also the source of fresh seafood, beef, and other delicious fare.

Go! Central Japan

We invite you to come and enjoy all that central Japan Shoryudo as to offer visitors. We look forward to welcoming you here!


  • Kanazawa - Kenrokuen
    Kanazawa - Kenrokuen
    One of the Three Great Gardens of Japan, where you can enjoy the beauty of the changing seasons.
  • World Heritage Site Gokayama
    World Heritage Site
    Japan's traditions from times past live on in this hamlet of gassho-style thatched-roof houses located deep in a mountain valley.
  • Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route
    Tateyama Kurobe
    Alpine Route
    A spectacular scenic mountain route running through vast natural beauty.
  • Tojinbo
    These dramatic sheer cliffs are one of Japan's most famous scenic sites.
  • World Heritage Site Shirakawa-go
    World Heritage Site
    Also, I want you to know I’ve been a company man all my life.
  • Old Private Houses
    Old Private Houses
    Old-time vistas and traditions live on in the lovely "little Kyoto" of the Hida region.
  • Matsumoto Castle
    Matsumoto Castle
    A National Treasure whose cherry trees and majestic castle tower are lovely in the spring.
  • Nagahama
    Encounter history and tradition in streetscapes where scenes of times past live on.
  • Nagoya Castle
    Nagoya Castle
    Famed for its cherry blossoms and the glittering golden shachihoko (mythical tiger-headed dolphins) that adorn the roof of the tower keep.
  • Mount Fuji
    Mount Fuji
    In every season, this symbol of Japan is a majestic sight.
  • Ise Grand Shrine
    Ise Grand Shrine
    Japan's most important Shinto shrine, visited by worshippers from through Japan.
  • World Heritage Site Kumano Kodo
    World Heritage Site
    Kumano Kodo
    A historic cultural treasure comprising ancient stone-paved pilgrimage routes.
  • Noto Airprot
  • Komatsu Airprot
  • Toyama Airprot
  • Central Japan International Airprot
  • Mt.Fuji Shizuoka Airprot
  • Kanazawa Kanazawa
  • Gokayama Gokayama
  • Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route Tateyama Kurobe
    Alpine Route
  • Tojinbo Tojinbo
  • Shirakawa-go Shirakawa-go
  • Takayama Takayama
  • Matsumoto Castle Matsumoto
  • Nagahama Nagahama
  • Nagoya Castle Nagoya Castle
  • Mount Fuji Mount Fuji
  • Ise Grand Shrine Ise Grand Shrine
  • Kumano Kodo Kumano Kodo